top of page

Meeting Patricia Polacco

Yesterday, I had the pleasure of hearing Patricia Polacco speak. The local town government along with a county literacy agency worked together to bring her in. Ms. Polacco is one of my very favorite authors of children's literature. I use her books quite a bit in the classes I teach.

Ms. Polacco is one of the most interesting people I have ever met. She told us about how some of her stories have come to be published. Many of the stories were ones that she had been told at her grandmother's knee. Others had actually happened to various family members. One of the most wonderful things she shared was the "keeping quilt". It is a recreation of a 127 year old quilt that has been passed down through her family over the years. The original is now in an art museum in Findlay, OH. She also allowed us to make a wish on a piece of the shooting star that fell in her grandparent's yard years ago. This event was the basis of the story Meteor!

One reason I love Ms. Polacco so much is the book Rechenka's Eggs. Years ago, I saw a Reading Rainbow episode that feature Ms. Polacco creating beautiful eggs in the Ukrainian style. This art form is called Pysanky. I was so moved that I had to learn to make Pysanky myself. Over the years I have learned a lot about this wonderful tradition. I am no expert, but I can make a pretty good looking egg.

After the program, Ms. Polacco graciously met with each person there. I waited my turn and finally was able to give her one my own Pysanky and thank her for inspiring me.

This was the best Christmas gift for me. Meeting such an amazing and kind woman really kicked off my holiday season on a high note.

Laura


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page