top of page

Design a Monster: A Makerspace Activity


If you have read some of my other posts, you know that I love combining science and literature. You also know that I love the "How to Catch a..." series by Adam Wallace & Andy Elkerton. With Halloween just around the corner, we had to read their book "How to Catch a Monster".

After reading this book, I decided to let my kids have a little creative fun in our new Makerspace. I loaded the Makerspace bins with all kinds of materials that would be fun to create a monster with. Being a frugal homeschool mom, I looked through my craft stash to help me out.

We invited a few friends over and let the fun begin. The kids were allowed to use my good scissors only after signing a contract to give up their first born if they used them on anything other than fabric. If you are a seamstress, you know how important these scissors are.

I really just let the kids go to town on this activity. The only limitation I gave them was that they could only choose one piece of Styrofoam. That was because I only had a few pieces and didn't want a fight to break out. As always, I was impressed by their creative ideas.

If you like this book. Check out my Teachers Pay Teachers store, Under One Roof , to grab

my literature unit to go along with it. It includes printables and ideas for using this book for STEM activities.

Get creative,

Laura

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page