top of page

How to Catch an Elf: A STEM Lesson

I am always looking for great literature selections for my kids. This year I found this little gem, How to Catch an Elf by Adam Wallace.

I knew I had to do something special with this book in my science class. My friend and I decided to combine our classes so her older kids (grade 3-5) could help my younger guys (grades K-2). We started by setting up a store where the kids could "buy" supplies for their elf traps. We decided to give each group $10 to spend on supplies. Items in the store included: a yard of yarn, a foot of masking tape, plastic cups, paper plates and bowls, straws, paper clips, craft sticks and pipe cleaners.

After reading the story to the kids, the students were grouped together so the older ones could help younger ones. They were given paper so they could draw out their trap plans. They had to add the cost of the items they wanted to use so they could make sure they stayed within their budgets. When they were ready, the teams could come and shop. It was fun to see them work together to get the right things. We measured the tape to stop them from going wild with the sticky stuff.

Once they had their supplies, the fun really began. It was amazing how many groups had the same basic design. Many of them decided to do a simple bowl or cup on a string. The plan was to drop the item on the elf, trapping him. But each group decorated their trap splendidly. One group had an elaborate trap where the elf would walk across a bowl covered with tissue paper. After falling in the bowl, he would reach for a rope in the bowl to help him climb out. The rope would then pull a cup on top of him.

All in all I was so impressed with the way the older students took the younger ones under their wings. They didn't try to bully the younger ones into doing what they wanted. They really listened to the younger kids and tried to implement all the ideas into one great trap.

It really warmed my heart when I found out one of the kids spent some of his vacation time building elf traps and leaving them around his Christmas tree at home.

Have a wonderful holiday season. I hope you catch an elf in your house.

Laura

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page